Protective Services

Fire Department: Parrsboro's Volunteer Fire Chief

James Shaw

(902) 254-4295

Parrsboro is serviced by a volunteer fire department that is trained in fire protection as well as high angle rescue and water rescue techniques. The Parrsboro Volunteer Fire Department also provides assistance to the fire departments in neighbouring communities.

Anyone wishing to book the Fire Hall for events or special occasions, please contact James Shaw at 254-4295.

Emergency Measures: The Regional Emergency Management Coordinator

Mike Johnson

(902) 667-3746
(902) 694-4228.

Through an Inter-Municipal Emergency Services Agreement with the County of Cumberland and the Towns of Amherst, Springhill and Oxford, Parrsboro is part of an organization (REMO) mandated to plan for and coordinate emergency service delivery during a real or imminent emergency.

Policing Parrsboro Detachment

Cpl. Chris MacDonald, Detachment Commander

(902) 254-2424

Policing services are provided through a contract with the RCMP. The Cumberland District RCMP, Parrsboro Office has six employees under the command of Cpl. Chris MacDonald. The jurisdiction that is covered by the Parrsboro Detachment covers Sand River to Parrsboro, Parrsboro to Southampton, and Parrsboro to Lynn Mountain via Highway 2 in Lower Five Islands.

Police Advisory Board